Reading Now: Exiles

I am trying to read more fiction lately, and for Father’s Day, my wife got me The Moviegoer by Walker Percy, Diary of a Country Priest, by Georges Bernanos, and Exiles by Ron Hansen.

I’ve started Exiles, and so far, so good. Two things attracted me to this book. First, I’ve not read anything yet by Ron Hansen, who wrote the book The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford, the filmed version of which I loved. Second, I’ve always been a major fan of Gerard Manley Hopkins, the main character of Exiles. As I am teaching three lit courses this term, I thought a return to Hopkins was in order, thus Exiles.

Hansen himself is someone I know little about, but I was happy to see he is a deacon in the Roman Catholic Church. Perhaps someone to investigate more as an example of a faithful artist of quality? To begin, here is a link to an NPR story on Hansen.

Leave a Reply

